Skip to content

PROM!

April 21, 2012

Well, Rose and I attended our first prom together last night at Romer’s Catering in Greenville, Ohio.  Rose wore a red Yves St. Laurant gown with jewelry provided by Hildago.  Her bracelet was specially designed by Charriol and featured pearls from the Great Barrier Reef. I was dressed in a suit by Lucianno Natazzi and matching tie.  Actually, I made those last few sentences up.  But Rose did have on a nice red dress and (of course) looked great.  I wore a suit with a red and gray tie that matched her dress pretty well.

We had a fun time.  The highlight of the evening had to be the promenade.  The prom-goers went out the back door and walked around the building to the front door.  Outside lining the walkway area were family and friends.  Everyone in the crowd got to see the attire of the prom-goers (sparkly dresses and white tuxedos were “in” this year), give a “shout out” and take pictures.  It was kinda fun to see that go on.

Rose and I did get a couple dances in so we could prove to ourselves we actually could dance some of the dances we have been learning.  I am sure we did not dance as much as Rose would have liked but the last hour or so was music made for young people.  Isn’t that a nice way to say that?  Basically the last hour seemed to be songs you had a certain “dance” you did to the song.  All we could figure is that kids watch You Tube videos to learn how to do the “right dance”.  But in the end, most everyone seemed to have a good time and no problems occurred at the dance.  I can’t speak for the activities after the prom (all my students are good kids so I doubt anything bad happened!).

Our after-prom activity consisted of driving the one hour home and going to sleep (it was WAY past my bedtime).  But since this was Rose’s first prom, I am sure it was a great memory.  And I have to give a shout out to those students who came over to say hello and meet Rose.  It was nice of them to do that.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Dean: I read your blog fairly often and enjoy your posts, just not big on commenting. You and Rose look wonderful!

    You’d be proud of me, I’ve lost 40 lbs and have started running. My longest distance so far is 2/3 of a mile, but I increase the distance every time I run. You gotta start somewhere, right!?!?

  2. Courtney permalink

    Looking good, Mom and Dad! Though I must say I’m shocked you didn’t rock a Perry Ellis suit Dad. Glad you both had fun, and that your kids got to meet the famous (I’m sure they’ve heard more than a few stories) Mrs. Waggenspack.

  3. dean, your wife is HOT! i mean i already knew that, but with the red dress? smokin!!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

