Skip to content

Marine Corps Historic Half

May 24, 2012

One of my goals for this year is to run three half marathons.  Well, I completed the first one of those this past weekend.  I ran the “Marine Corps Historic Half Marathon” in Virginia.

Yes, you read that correctly.  Got Rose to drive all the way to Fredericksburg, Virginia (a little more than eight hour drive) so I could run a half marathons.  Yep, I am crazy.

There is something about the way people who are in, or have been in, the military stand when the Star Spangled Banner is played.  They stand at attention generally with their arms at their sides or one hand on their heart.  No movement.  No swaying back-and-forth.  No talking.  No starting to move on when the song nears its close.  Reverence is the only word that comes to mind.  But it is a small, powerful reminder that those who chose to serve this country in the military truly respect our country.  A great reminder for all of us.

So how did the race go?  Fantastic.  It is a pretty tough, but fair course.  Some races are all about trying to allow people to run their fastest so the courses are flat.  This one was not.  Lots of rolling hills and two challenging hills at the end.  But I like that kind of course.  We ran through a lot of local neighborhoods and the historic part of town (but interestingly enough, not near the Fredericksburg Civil War Battlefield).   My goal was to run 1 hour 50 minutes (about 8:20 per mile).  I ended up running 1:47.46 (8:13) per mile.  And I was running very strong the last part, passing quite a few people.  I guess that makes up for some of the times people passed me in marathons.  My running buddies know that time is not near my fastest but my work schedule limits my training.  So I take great pride in doing better than expectations.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. REB permalink

    Slouch – I drove 13.1 miles in under 10 minutes and still had plenty of energy left. I give you credit for running like you do. Unfortunately too many knee surgeries stopped my running long ago. But i can still drive and on those long trips – cruise control is great!!! Keep up the training and I hope you reach your goal of 3 half marathons.

Leave a Reply

