Skip to content

Focus on the Positive

July 17, 2012

Do you ever find yourself so focused on some event/situation that it keeps you from enjoying whatever you should be enjoying?

I’ve had that experience lately.  I have to take two weeks of class at Wright State this summer.  The classes run Monday through Friday from 8:00-5:00.  Basically I am “losing” two weeks of my summer vacation.  But I have to take the classes as part of my state-mandated teacher certification.  I am not anxious to take these classes.  I’ve convinced myself that they will not be the best use of my time.  I’d rather be running.  I’d rather be working on lesson plans for school.  I can find a bunch of other things to do.  But I don’t have a choice.  I find myself groaning about the unfairness of it all.  Whenever I look ahead at the calendar, I moan because of the commitment.  Let’s all feel sorry for me.

So why am I allowing this to ruin my month?

I’ve decided – with the help of this soul-baring post – that I am not going to do this groaning and moaning anymore.  I am going to try to get whatever I can out of the class.  I know being around other teachers will generate some few good ideas.  Maybe I’ll pass a couple of my ideas by them to see if the others can improve on my plans.  But more importantly, I am not going to focus on the “lost” time.  It is a reality.  I must go to the classes.  Therefore, I am NOT going to focus anymore time or effort on self-pity.  Okay, so I won’t have this two-week time to do exactly what I want to do.  But I still have a bunch of other days to get done what I want to do.   Once I stop focusing on the negative, I’ll give myself time back.

I feel better already.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

