Skip to content

Did it and Didn’t

January 5, 2016

I felt like wrapping up my year by evaluating how I have done against what I wanted to do.  The best way I could do this was to measure myself against my values.  I am a firm believer that if you are not looking to accomplish things, while measuring how you did against those goals, you are probably not serious about them.  I take my goals seriously

So here goes.

#1 Work/Education.  Be a life-long learner  – to challenge myself mentally .  In work, be present in service to others

I completed my classes to achieve certification as a coach through the Gestalt Institute of Cleveland.  This was a life-changing event for me.  I learned so much about myself and how to work with others.  I am so glad I took the time to invest in the classes.  I also completed eight on-line courses through edX on a variety of subjects.  I learned a bunch and had fun experiencing what it is like to take an on-line course.

I consider work my biggest failure for the year.  I have just not figured it out.  Part of it is I have not completely nailed down the niche I want to serve.  Another part is my unwillingness to sell myself.  I severely underestimated how hard that is for me to do.

#2 Leisure.  Travel and ensure that I set aside time for reading and blogging.

I read 47 books this year.  A couple of them were among the best books I have ever read.  They challenged my thinking, told me a good story and added to my knowledge of history.  I am glad I took the time to read.  I read 98% non-fiction and don’t really want to expand beyond that for now.  Some people might say I am limiting myself a little bit, but I have a long list of books I still want to read.

I created 43 posts for my blog this year.  That is about what I would like to do.  I am happy I kept up with this blog.  I don’t have a lot of followers, so I really do it for myself.  And I think that is the right reason to do it.  I enjoy writing.

I traveled to to the beach at Hilton Head and Emerald Isle, NC.  I ran half marathon races in two more states that I had not run in before – Marshall, Michigan and Shepherdstown, WV. Nate and I traveled to Colorado Springs, Co and did a couple cool adventures.  Walking up the Manitou Incline tested my endurance and physical ability.  I need to find a way to get to Texas to see Luke and NYC to see Courtney.

#3 Relationships.  Be a person with a positive attitude, encourage others and recognize the good in others.  Be the kind of person that radiates positive energy.

I am doing pretty well with this.  Not working, I have less opportunity to directly influence people I  might see daily. Thus I am looking for other ways to accomplish that.  I am comfortable at the Fitness Center in being positive with other people who are working out.  I am making a concerted effort to engage the people I might encounter while in a store.  I am getting better in social situations engaging others.  But this is an area of growth for me.  I am generally a positive person, I just need to put myself out there more.

I still can improve on my willingness to engage others – especially social sessions with people I don’t necessarily share a known interest with.  I also could have done a better job staying in touch with extended family on a more regular basis.

#4 Personal Growth/Health.  Be active and fit so that I can continue to run and be able to enjoy physical activities.

This was an interesting year.  I ran my fastest time for a 5k race and a 10k race in six years.  But I also ran my slowest times ever for both of those races this year.  I learned something from each of those – and also acknowledge that age sometimes catches up with me.  I ran what I consider one of my best half marathon races in West Virginia.  While it was not my fastest ever, given the toughness of the course, it was nearly perfect.  I modified my fitness plan to include one day of rest a week.  This reaped great benefits in recovery from exercise and made me feel consistently better.  I realize that fitness is my #1 personal passion.

Overall, a good year.  But I have some ideas to make 2016 even better.  Best wishes to all for a great 2016.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

